Is Sushi Halal ? [ 2023]

For some, eating Sushi is more than just filling up the stomach, it is kind of like the happiness for a lot of people or the same thing;

But, as Muslim. The question that arises is: Is Sushi Halal? It can be Halal or it can’t be not.

Sushi is Halal if Sushi is made of fish and all the other ingredients come with it are also permitted in Islam. Otherwise, if Sushi has been marinated with any other non Halal ingredients, then Sushi is not Halal in this case.

Is Sushi Halal or Haram?

Most scholars had considered that raw fish is permissible as it has fins, scales and it contains very little blood.

Most of the impurities are located within the head of the fish, once it is cut off, and the fins and scales are removed and cleaned properly.

By doing this, all the impurities have been removed, from the head to the fins and scales, and all things are clean now, at that time, the raw fish is considered Halal.

From this, Sushi in itself is Halal, but it is mixed up with any other ingredients, flavors or any other Haram substance, then all the meal will be Haram.

To back all of this, Cheikh Faraz Rabbani from SunniPath were asked if Sushi is Halal, and he responded:

Walaikum assalam wa rahmatullah,

I pray this finds you in the best of health and spirits.

It is in itself permitted to eat sushi made from fish (or prawn) 

in the Hanafi school, if the remaining ingredients are also

 permitted. As for other seafood besides fish, these aren’t 
permitted in the Hanafi school.

Now, what about all the sea food Halal status;

Is seafood Halal?

All Islamic scholars have of the four Sunni Schools of Islamic law had agreed that all seafood is Halal for consumption.

And according to IslamQA:

, All kinds of food from the sea are permissible, whether they are plants or animals, alive or dead. There are certain types of water animals which are forbidden such as crocodiles, frogs, otters and turtles. For more, please see the detailed answer.


This Halal status is backed up with Quranic verse; that affirms that all seafood is Halal for Muslims. Hence, all kinds of food from the sea are permissible, whether they are plants or animals, alive or dead.

 Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): “Lawful to you is (the pursuit of) water-game and its use for food – for the benefit of yourselves and those who travel…” [al-Maidah 5:96].

 Ibn 'Abbas said: “ Sayduhu (lit. hunting, pursuit) refers to whatever is taken from it alive, and ta’amuhu (lit. its food) means whatever is taken dead.”

What Will Makes Sushi Haram?

Here are some ingredients that come with the Haram status;

  • Mirin

Mirin, a sweet rice wine used in Japanese cooking kitchen, as alcohol is Haram in Islam, Mirin is Haram too.

  • Rice Vinegar Prepared Using Rice Wine

It is prohibited because Alcohol is prohibited in Islam

  • Additive Flavors

Any flavor derivates of wine, bear, liquor and any not permissible substance is Islam will propagate the Haram status to Sushi.


  • If Sushi is cooked by itself or with any other Halal ingredient, it is okay to consume it.
  • If Sushi is used in combination with another component, condiment or flavor any prohibited substances, then Sushi is not Halal in this case.

Other interested questions:

Leave a Comment