Are Hershey Kisses Halal ? [2023]

Hershey’s Kisses are very popular chocolate brand made by The Hershey Company. It is one of the largest and well known chocolate manufacturers in the United States.

Hershey’s Kisses are small bite-sized chocolates, their shape is like small drops of kisses, which refers the their name.

As a Muslim living in non Muslim, it is crucial to ask the question:

Are Hershey Kisses Halal ? The short answer is not all their products are assumed to be Halal, but they have a Halal certification.

Let’s dive into the details

Are Hershey Kisses Halal or Haram ?

Hershey’s Kisses are made from milk chocolate, it comes with its distinctive silver oil wrapping the iconic paper plume getting out of the top of each chocolate piece.

The Halal or Haram status is defined by the status of each ingredient used during the manufacturing process by the company.

If any ingredient found that is not Halal such Pork based ingredients, animal derived components or the presence of Alcohol.

Let’s see the list of ingredients mentioned on their official site and their status

IngredientHalal Status
Cane SugarGenerally considered halal
MilkHalal when sourced correctly
ChocolateHalal if no haram ingredients are added
Cocoa ButterHalal when sourced correctly
Milk FatHalal when sourced correctly
LecithinTypically halal, but source matters
Natural FlavorGenerally halal, source verification needed

As we can see there is no Gelatine among those ingredients, as it is extracted from pork, and his place within the recipe will change the status to Haram, so be aware of that because the ingredients are always changing.

For this reason, it is recommended to check any label before any consumption to double check the information, to spot any use of any alcohol based flavoring or any prohibited related flavoring.

In addition to the above, Hershey’s Kisses are Halal certified in the United States given by  the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America ( IFANCA).

It has another Halal certification received from the Halal Transaction of Omaha, which requires Hershey’s Kisses to follow to get approved, in which the The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America supervise the production of the consumables and attesting they were produced according to the ingredient standards of the Halal status.

Are Hershey Kisses Halal Certified

Even Hershey Kisses is Halal certified in the United States, not all their products are Halal certified.

Some products Hershey Kisses Bliss chocolate are not Halal, as they contain Gelatine pork, that is prohibited in Islam.

The other Halal products are allow to consume for Muslims are:

  • Hershey’s cocoa powder 
  • Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate chips

They are Halal certified by IFANCA ( The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America).

However, Hershey’s claimed that Milk Chocolate Candy is currently Halal-certified as they said that they work closely with  with The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA ) and  The Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim)  to give all Halal certification standards for our milk chocolate products.

Final Thoughts

If you are still having the question in mind: are Are Hershey Kisses Halal or Haram, it is important that thrive to have the Halal certification from IFANCA and other Halal certification centers.

But, it is always crucial to double check the label for any prohibited ingredient before consuming anything in order to stay on the safe side and within Allah’s guidelines.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Hershey’s chocolate is Halal?

Not all chocolate based products are Halal certified. Hershey’s Bliss products come in both milk and dark chocolate, and they have been certified by the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA).

Does Hershey Kisses have meat?

Hershey Kisses are not meat based, they use 100 % vegetarian ingredients.

Is Hershey’s cookies and cream Haram?

Hershey Kisses had stated that their Cookies Creme bar is Halal certified.

Leave a Comment