Are Doritos Halal ? [2023]

Doritos is a very well known brand, it is likeable for many people for the their unique combination of flavors. It is easy to carry, store and consume, making the go to snack.

For this, any Muslim will question the Halal status of their food.

So, Are doritos Halal? The short answer, is No because it contains prohibited animals flavors with very little exception such as Flavored Tortilla Chips.

Now, let’s delve in to know more about this.

Are Doritos Halal or Haram ?

Doritos located in Muslim countries such as Indonesia have Halal certifications for their products.

The same thing is true for the Muslim community in South Africa

However, Doritos located in USA, UK and Canada are certified halal, as their productions contained several ingredients such as

Cheese and whey, which contain no Halal enzymes.

PepsiCo, the company behind Doritos had confirmed that their products are not Halal, and because of this, they are not labeled Halal through a tweet from their part:

Another email communication confirmed this more, with an email sent to them:


I hope your are well.

Just wondering if any of the Doritos Chips are Halal products or not? if not, is there any Halal alternatives ?

Thank you in advance.

IslamiDio Team

Their answer had come as follows :


Thank you for contacting PepsiCo Foods.

All our Doritos flavors, have animal enzymes except  Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat.

If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list “cheese” and “whey” as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavours and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under “natural flavours.”  

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay’s Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito Lay snacks.  

We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.PepsiCo Consumer Relations Representative

List of Halal Doritos

oritos FlavorsStatus
Blaze DoritosHalal
Spicy Sweet Chili DoritosHalal
Salsa Verde DoritosHalal
Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla ChipsHalal
Flamas DoritosContains cheese
Doritos Collisions – Blaze and Ultimate CheddarContains cheese
Dinamita Chile Limon Rolled DoritosContains cheese
Cool Ranch DoritosContains cheese
Blazin’ Buffalo & Ranch DoritosContains cheese
Flamin’ Hot Nacho DoritosContains cheese
Nacho Cheese DoritosContains cheese
Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings DoritosContains cheese
Doritos Flavor Shots – Flamin’ Hot Nacho Cheese Covered PeanutsContains cheese
Doritos Flavor Shots – Fiery Habanero TrianglesContains cheese
Doritos Flavor Shots – Nacho Cheese Covered PeanutsContains cheese
Taco Flavored DoritosContains cheese
Spicy Nacho DoritosContains cheese
Simply Organic White Cheddar DoritosContains cheese
Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar DoritosContains cheese
Poppin’ Jalapeno DoritosContains cheese
Tapatio DoritosContains cheese


Doritos products sold in USA, UK and Canada are not Halal, as they contain cheese and Whey.

Therefore, the only halal option for the Doritos chips found is Spicy Sweet Chili Flavored Tortilla Chips & Doritos Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips.

It is recommended to always check the Halal label before consuming their products.

You May Also like:

Leave a Comment